To: Dr. Carmen Rodríguez, President, Faculty Senate of Virginia

Dr. Louise Freeman, President, Virginia Conference of the American Association of University Professors

From: The Faculty of the University of Mary Washington

Date: June 16, 2020

RE: Radford University's Board of Visitors' June 12 Resolution suspending the University Faculty Handbook

Dear Professors Rodríguez and Freeman:

The faculty of the University of Mary Washington unequivocally support your response to Radford University's Board of Visitors' June 12 resolution authorizing President Hemphill to implement budget cuts, which may include teaching and research faculty workforce reductions and program restructuring and discontinuance, without adhering to the university's Faculty Handbook sections governing fiscal exigency, grievances, and appeals. We, furthermore, offer our solidarity with faculty colleagues at Radford University who stand to suffer the consequences of this resolution.

All faculty of Virginia's higher education system must stand united in defending our professional rightis and in opposing short-sighted, reactionary decisions in response to a temporary public health crisis that will cause unnecessarily deep, long-lasting, and possibly irreparable damage to our institutions and profession.

University of Mary Washington University Faculty Council (UFC) Executive Committee:

- · Andrew Dolby, UFC Chair
- Ken Machande, UFC Vice Chair
- · Anand Rao, UFC Past Chair and FSVA Past President
- · Janine Davis, UFC Secretary
- · Marcel Rotter, UFC Parliamentarian and President, UMW Chapter of the AAUP

Nabil Al-Tikriti, Chair, University Budget Advisory Committee

Steven E. Harris, Chair, University Journalism Advisory Committee

Suzanne Sumner, UFC Member and FSVA Past Treasurer

Laura Mentore, UFC Member, Chair of CASFC (College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Council)

Larry Lehman, Professor of Mathematics and UFC Member

Teresa Coffman, Professor of Education and UFC Member

Kashef Majid, Associate Professor of Marketing and UFC Member

Eric Gable, Professor of Anthropology

Angela Pitts, Professor of Classics

Craig Vasey, Professor of Philosophy

Joseph Romero, Professor of Classics; Department Chair, Classics, Philosophy, & Religious Studies

Courtney Clayton, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, College of Education

Nora Kim, Associate Professor of Sociology

Mindy J. Erchull, Professor of Psychological Science

Chris Foss, Professor of English

Janie Lee, Associate Professor of Linguistics

Robert S. Rycroft, Professor of Economics

Jennifer R. Mailloux, Associate Professor of Psychological Science

Ian Finlayson, Associate Professor and Chair of Computer Science

Marjorie Och, Professor of Art History

Michael J. Reno, Lecturer of Philosophy

Jennifer Polack, professor of Computer Science

Deborah O'Dell, Professor of Biological Sciences, Former Chair CAS Faculty Council

Warren Rochelle, Professor Emeritus of English, former Creative Writing Coordinator

Mara Scanlon, Professor of English and Associate Director of the Honors Program

Jennifer Barry, Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

Kelli Slunt, Professor of Chemistry and Director of Honors Program

Jesse Stommel, Senior Lecturer of Digital Studies

Elizabeth Larus, Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, Fulbright Scholar Kyle T. Schultz, Associate Professor of Mathematics Education Brian Rizzo, Associate Professor, Geography Surupa Gupta, Associate Professor, Political Science and International Affairs Federico Schneider, Associate Professor of Italian, and Title IX Appeal Board Member Krystyn R. Moon, Professor, History and American Studies Bridget Brew, Assistant Professor of Sociology Bruce O'Brien, Professor, History and American Studies Susan R. Fernsebner, Professor, History and American Studies Dave Kolar, Associate Professor of Psychology Gregg Stull, Professor of Theatre Gary Richards, Professor of English and Chair of the Department of English and Linguistics Farhang Rouhani, Professor of Geography Cate Brewer, Senior Lecturer of Theatre Christine McBride, Professor and Chair of Psychological Science Mary Beth Mathews, Professor of Religious Studies Caitlin Finlayson, Associate Professor of Geography Pamela Grothe, Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences Scott Powers, Professor of French Ben LaBreche, Associate Professor of English Jason Davidson, Professor of Political Science and International Affairs Jon McMillan, Associate Professor of Studio Art and Chair, Department of Art and Art History Liane Houghtalin, Professor of Classics Julia DeLancey, Professor of Art History

Ginny Morriss, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences

Kim Gower, Assistant Professor of Business Administration

Ranjit Singh, Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

David Rettinger, Professor of Psychological Science

Joseph Nicholas, Associate Professor of Geography

John P. Broome, Associate Professor of Education

Maya Mathur, Professor of English

Sarah A. Morealli, Senior Lecturer, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Stephen Gallik, Professor of Biology

Mehdi Aminrazavi, Professor of Philosophy & Religion

Ping Yin, Associate Professor of Geography

Jonathan Levin, Professor of English

Andrew Marshall, Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Marie Sheckels, Professor of Mathematics Education

Leslie Martin, Associate Professor of Sociology

Jodie Hayob, Professor of Geology, Chair of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Judith Parker, Professor of English and Linguistics